Congratulations to Everton de Viña del Mar in reaching the final of the Chilean Cup after beating Audax Italiano 4-2 over two legs.

Everton secured a 1-0 victory in the second leg thanks to a goal from striker Braian Rodriguez on 67 minutes. The Ruleteros had gone into the game with a 3-2 lead from the first leg. They had defeated Unión San Felipe, Palestino and Unión Española on their way to the semi-final.

The Ruleteros will face Colo Colo in the final on Wednesday 14th December at the national stadium.

Everton have won the trophy once, back in 1984, whilst opponents Colo Colo have won it a record 10 times.

Everton will face a pre-run of the final when they take on opponents Colo Colo in the league on Sunday. Since manager Pablo Sanchez took over in late September, the Ruleteros have only lost once in their last 13 games in all competitions.

As a result of reaching this year's final, Everton will qualify for next year's Copa Sudamericana tournament. If they win the cup final, the Ruleteros will qualify for the Copa Libertadores.

All-in-all, things look promising for the Ruleteros after a pretty miserable start to the season. As ever, you can follow the progress of Everton Chile via the website, on Twitter @theruleteros and Facebook.

Reader Comments (6)

Note: the following content is not moderated or vetted by the site owners at the time of submission. Comments are the responsibility of the poster. Disclaimer

Giacomo Trifoglio
1 Posted 02/12/2016 at 17:08:49
I'll just get this in before the Marketing Department beat me to it ... reciprocal kit arrangement?
Mick Davies
2 Posted 02/12/2016 at 22:56:42
I've been supporting the wrong Everton
Brian Porter
3 Posted 03/12/2016 at 06:24:37
My thoughts exactly Mick (#2).
Marc Carran
4 Posted 03/12/2016 at 15:27:17
Have you guys read the article properly?

One trophy since 84??? We might be having a trophy drought but they've clearly had an even longer one and a lot less to celebrate throughout their history!

Tom P Owen
5 Posted 05/12/2016 at 19:41:56
@Marc #4, They did in fact win their fourth league title back in 2008.
Paul Ellam
6 Posted 06/12/2016 at 21:06:35
Great news! Well done to all concerned.

Add Your Comments

In order to post a comment, you need to be logged in as a registered user of the site.

» Log in now

Or Sign up as a ToffeeWeb Member — it's free, takes just a few minutes and will allow you to post your comments on articles and Talking Points submissions across the site.

© ToffeeWeb