Everton Fixtures and Match Reports 1996-97


FA Carling Premiership FA Cup Coca-Cola Cup Friendlies
Season Review Appearances Goalscorers Final Tables

Hypertext links lead to full match details and a compilation of match reports.


FA Carling Premiership, 1996-97

Day  Date  Ven Opponents             Result    Att   Scorers                              
 
Sat Aug 17 (h) NEWCASTLE UNITED   TV  W 2-0  40,117  Unsworth (pen), Speed 
Wed Aug 21 (a) Manchester United      D 2-2  54,943  Ferguson 2 
Sat Aug 24 (a) Tottenham Hotspur      D 0-0  29,696
Wed Sep  4 (h) ASTON VILLA            L 0-1  39,115
Sat Sep  7 (a) Wimbledon              L 0-4  13,684 
Sat Sep 14 (h) MIDDLESBROUGH          L 1-2  39,250  Short 
Sat Sep 21 (a) Blackburn Rovers       D 1-1  27,091  Unsworth
Sat Sep 28 (h) SHEFFIELD WEDNESDAY    W 2-0  34,160  Kanchelskis, Stuart
Sat Oct 12 (h) WEST HAM UNITED        W 2-1  36,571  Stuart, Speed 
Mon Oct 28 (a) Nottingham Forest  TV  W 1-0  19,892  Short 
Mon Nov  4 (h) COVENTRY CITY      TV  D 1-1  31,477  Stuart              
Sat Nov 16 (h) SOUTHAMPTON            W 7-1  35,669  Stuart, Kanchelskis 2, Speed 3, Barmby
Wed Nov 20 (a) Liverpool              D 1-1  40,751  Speed 
Sat Nov 23 (a) Leicester City         W 2-1  20,975  Hinchcliffe, Unsworth
Sat Nov 30 (h) SUNDERLAND             L 1-3  40,087  Ferguson
Sat Dec  7 (a) Chelsea                D 2-2  28,418  Branch, Kanchelskis
Mon Dec 16 (a) Derby County       TV  W 1-0  17,252  Barmby    
Sat Dec 21 (h) LEEDS UNITED           D 0-0  36,954
Thu Dec 26 (a) Middlesbrough          L 2-4  29,673  Unsworth, Ferguson
Sat Dec 28 (h) WIMBLEDON              L 1-3  36,733  Stuart
Wed Jan  1 (h) BLACKBURN ROVERS   TV  L 0-2  30,427           
Sat Jan 11 (a) Sheffield Wednesday    L 1-2  24,175  Ferguson
Sun Jan 19 (a) Arsenal            TV  L 1-3  38,095  Ferguson    
Wed Jan 29 (a) Newcastle United       L 1-4  36,143  Speed
Sat Feb  1 (h) NOTTINGHAM FOREST      W 2-0  32,567  Ferguson, Barmby
Sat Feb 22 (a) Coventry City          D 0-0  19,497  
Sat Mar  1 (h) ARSENAL                L 0-2  36,980
Wed Mar  5 (a) Southampton            D 2-2  15,134  Ferguson, Speed
Sat Mar  8 (a) Leeds United           L 0-1  32,055
Sat Mar 15 (h) DERBY COUNTY           W 1-0  32,140  Watson
Sat Mar 22 (h) MANCHESTER UNITED      L 0-2  40,079    
Sat Apr  5 (a) Aston Villa            L 1-3  39,339  Unsworth
Wed Apr  9 (h) LEICESTER CITY         D 1-1  30,368  Branch
Sat Apr 12 (h) TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR      W 1-0  36,380  Speed
Wed Apr 16 (h) LIVERPOOL          TV  D 1-1  40,177  Ferguson 
Sat Apr 19 (a) West Ham United        W 2-2  24,545  Branch, Ferguson
Sat May  3 (a) Sunderland             L 0-3  22,108
Sun May 11 (h) CHELSEA                L 1-2  38,321  Barmby


FINAL LEAGUE POSITION: 15th in the Premiership  Link to Final League Table

FA Cup

Sponsored by Littlewoods Pools

Day  Date   Rnd  Opponents         Result   Att    Scorers

Sun Jan  5  3rd  (h) SWINDON TOWN   W 3-0  20,411  Kanchelskis, Barmby, Ferguson 
Sat Jan 25  4th  (h) BRADFORD CITY  L 2-3  30,007  O'Brein (og), Speed
  

Coca-Cola Cup

Day  Date   Rnd  Opponents         Result   Att    Scorers

Wed Sep 18  2/1  (h) YORK CITY      D 1-1  11,527  Kanchelskis   
Tue Sep 24  2/2  (a) York City      L 2-3   7,354  Rideout, Speed                                
            (Everton lose 3-4 on aggregate)  

Friendlies - 1996

Sir John Moores Centenary Trophy

Sat 27 Jul  (a) Borussia Mönchengladbach  L  2-2  Ferguson, Speed (Lost 2-3 on Pens)
Sun 28 Jul  (h) LIVERPOOL                 D  0-0  (Everton and Liverpool tied for 3rd Place)

First-Team Matches

Sun 28 Jul  (a) Tranmere Rovers           W  2-1  Ferguson, Kanchelskis  Liverpool Senior Cup Final
Sat  3 Aug  (a) Aberdeen                  W  3-1  Kanchelskis, Watson, Own Goal (Irvine)
Tue  6 Aug  (a) Wrexham                   W  4-3  Kanchelskis (4)
Sat 10 Aug  (a) Birmingham City           W  2-1  Stuart, Ferguson

Friendlies - 1997

Sat 15 Feb  (a) Jersey Select XI          W 10-1  Barmby 4, Ferguson 2, Speed 2, Thomsen, McCann
Wed 14 May  (a) Derby County              L  1-4  Speed                Martin Taylor Testimonial

About these ads

Recent News

Recent Articles

Talking Points & Miscellany

Everton in the Community

About these ads